Saint Blasius Church Vlissegem

The neoclassical Saint Blaise Church is located in a protected village landscape. It is surrounded by a cemetery where the paths are lined with pollarded lime trees. The cemetery is the resting place of 7 English soldiers from World War II. It forms a charming ensemble enclosed by a whitewashed cemetery wall and wrought-iron gates.

The village and the place of worship dedicated to St. Blaise are mentioned as early as 988. Archaeological research confirms that this unassuming and untouched polder village is one of the oldest settlements on the coast.

In the 13th-14th century, the primitive wooden church was replaced by a Gothic hall church. This church suffered significant damage during the Iconoclastic Fury (1566-1585) and was only partially restored due to lack of funds. By the end of 1788, the physical condition of the church was in such a poor state that it was decided to build a completely new parish church. It was not until 1834 that the work was completed. Since then, the village has had this three-aisled church with a west tower.

The modest neoclassical interior is plastered and painted white and is vaulted with a barrel vault. The church houses several valuable 17th and 18th-century paintings and sculptures. Most of the furniture dates back to the 18th century.